Students honored in music, art

The 2019 All-County High School Band, directed by Bruce Harkins, performed “Ayre and Dance,” “Call of Courage” and “Project March” to close out the 2019 Floyd County All-Schools Band and Art Festival at the Mountain Arts Center Tuesday night.

Parents, students and members of the community gathered at the Mountain Arts Center Tuesday night for the 2019 Floyd County All-Schools Band and Art Festival.

The festival opened with a short concert by the 2019 All-County Middle School Band conducted by David Jump performed “The Zombie Dance” written by Michael Story and “Ancient Hunters” written by Sean O’Loughlin.

The All-County Middle School Band was composed of Alyssa Steward, Madison Newsome, Aubrey Adkins, Makayla Kidd, Danielle Kidd, Owen Hall, Will Justice, Preston Kendrick, Michael Carter Akers, Peyton Akers, Alex Hinkle, Dylan West, Konor Kidd, Taylor Collins, Dakota Stumbo, Ethan Slone, David Adams, Tyler Newsome, Elijah Knight, Jacob Adkins, Alexis Faith Akers, Chris Hunter, Cade Boyd, Chase Shepherd, Emily Conway, Kiera Akers, Alyssa Hollifield, Peyton Jarvis, Ryan Bradford, Connar Light, Will Adkins, Hanna Orsborne, Savannah Collins, Megan Nichols, Cameron Keathley, Hailey Carroll, Logan Johnson, Keegan West, Blake Ash, Avery Bailey, Quienton Yont and Landon Williams of Betsy Layne Elementary; Todd Prater, Landon Coleman, Hailey B. Little, Anthony Jones, Desirae Horn, Jacalyn Hancock, Cody Clark, Mason Buck and Graydon Martin of Duff-Allen Central Elementary; and Caiden Harris, Ericka Tackett, Jacob Mullins, Jamaica Caudill, Johnathan Moore, Kailey Hunt, Keliee Mullins, Kinsey Sturgill, Lincoln Slone and Maggie Johnson of South Floyd Elementary.

Presenters Kevin Slone and Shannon Shepherd awarded certificates to honorable mentions and medals to second-place and best-in-show winners, including for the first time elementary school participants. 

Elementary school honorable mentions are Sophie Hacker and Ally Hamilton of Prestonsburg Elementary, Addison Brown and Brooke Stumbo of Duff-Allen Central Elementary, J.B. Boyd and Lexi O’Bryan of South Floyd Elementary, Layla Johnson and Kinleigh Martin of Stumbo Elementary, Lance Lawson and Caleb Orsborne of Betsy Layne Elementary, Blayze Camron and Sierra Slone of Allen Elementary and Benny McCoy and Landon Ward of May Valley Elementary. 

Middle school honorable mentions are Kaitlyn Hager and Sage Slone of Adams Middle School, Hailey Little of Duff-Allen Central Elementary, Hayden Barela and Ericka Tackett of South Floyd Elementary, Majaia Yates of Stumbo Elementary, Caley Akers and Jayla Slone of Betsy Layne Elementary and Sidney Chaffins of Allen Elementary. 

High school honorable mentions are Skylar Hamilton of Betsy Layne High School with Cheyenne McIntire of Prestonsburg High School and Andrew Moore of Floyd Central High School.

Winning Best of Show, second Place for middle school are Madison Wilcox and Kaylee Boyd from Adams Middle School, Todd Prater and Harley Fletch from Duff-Allen Central Elementary, Devin Slone from South Floyd Elementary, Rachael Helms, Victoria Paige Yount and Allyson Rogers from Betsy Layne Elementary and Breanna Carter and Heaven Kazmar from Allen Elementary. High School Best of Show, second place are Devin Martin, Brianna Pinion and Jaylen Young of Betsy Layne High School, Lauren Gearheart, Alexis Hall, Kiera Warrens and Kaitlyn Turner of Floyd Central High School and Andrea Condia, Hannah Ratliff and Clayton Smith of Prestonsburg High School.

Winning Best of Show for middle school are Gracie Rogers and Hannah Blankenship from Adams Elementary, Emma Dudleson and Mattie Boyd from Duff-Allen Central Elementary, Chloe Hall from South Floyd Elementary, Sophie Slone and Kaylee Haden of Stumbo Elementary, Alyssa Steward from Betsy Layne Elementary and Natalie Hayden and Jasmnie Maldonado from Allen Elementary. Winning Best of Show for high school are KayLee Evans, Sophia Ratliff and Mayson Young of Betsy Layne High School, Jacob Hall, Jhaughanessy Morris and Kate Mullins of Floyd Central High School, and Emily Hall, Gabe Hitchcock, Payton Martin and Makayla Ousley of Prestonsburg High School.

The 2019 Floyd County Schools Musician of the year was awarded to Gracie Thompson of Floyd Central High School, who performed “O Mio Babbino Caro,” a soprano aria by Gianni Schicci. Thomas also wins a scholarship to the school of her choice, sponsored by Dr. Ryan Maynard Chiropractic

Closing out the festival, All-County High School Band, directed by Bruce Harkins, performed “Ayre and Dance” written by Bruce Pearson, “Call of Courage” written by Carmine Pastore and “Project March” written by Harold Bennett.

The All-County High School Band was composed of Christopher Adkins, Kegan Akers, Brandon Belcher, Maggie Bentley, Katelynn Collins, Toni Cook, Kobe Hughes, Brianna Johnson, Alexis Keathley, Danielle Schindler, Andrew Stratton, Andrew Waddle, Damien Williams, Gracelyn Woods and Jaylen Young of Betsy Layne High School; Justin Akers, Ashleigh Allen, Autumn Bailey, Lindsay Banks, Bethany Bentley, Brandy Blevins, Shannon Rogers, Leanna Clouse, Joseph Derossett, Jasmine Edwards, Makenzie Hamilton, Savannah Hamilton, Whitney Hancock, Jade Howard, Hanah Jarrell, Haven Little, Sahara Little, Alyssa Meade, Abigail Paige Angeleigh Poling, Savannah Price, Tony Reynolds, Destiny Robinson, Zachary Rose, Chantal Sargant, Joley Scarberry, Brittany Shepherd, Isabella Stewart, Rhoslyn Stumbo, Shania Stump, McKenzie Tackett, Kelli Thomas, Gracie Thompson, Ethan Wright and Megan Yonce of Floyd Central High School; and Halie Blackburn, Logan McKenzie, Destiny Elliot, Chase Ross, Brian Agtuca, Makayla Padgett and Nadaleigh Lester of Prestonsburg High School.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.