Some of the winners of the 33rd Annual Floyd County Schools Young Authors program were honored at a banquet held by the school district recently at the Jenny Wiley State Resort Park Wilkinson- Stumbo Convention Center.

The Floyd County Schools District recognized the story-telling talents of students recently during the 33rd Annual Young Authors Program awards ceremony at the Jenny Wiley State Resort Park. 

Students from Adams Middle and Allen, Betsy Layne, Duff-Allen Central, John M. Stumbo, May Valley, Prestonsburg and South Floyd elementary schools submitted their original works to be judged by a panel of volunteers to select a school winner who then went on to district competition. The winners are:

Eighth Grade:

“Big Bertha’s Bad Game” by Kynzi and Kimmie Slone, AMS, won illustrated work; “Story of Sid Matthews” by Jacob Mullins, SFES, won non-illustrated; “Nature” by Shian Crum, AES, won poetry/song lyrics; “The Tree That Saved a Family” by Kaitlyn Hager, AMS, won picture book; “Love and Lost” by Alyson Kilburn, AES, won real world; “Bobby Selton Slone” by Sage Slone, AMS, won the ‘our people’ category; “Past Floods Causing Pollution” by Payton Hansford, DACE, won photo essay — past; and “County Animal Shelter” by Maggie Nelson, AMS, won photo essay — present.

Seventh Grade:

“What She Doesn’t Know” by Karly Williams, BLES, won illustrated work; “Dazzling” by Faith Akers, BLES, won non-illustrated; “The Beauty of Nature” by Brayleigh Darnell, AES, won poetry/song lyrics; “Just A Little Jump” by Natalie Hayden, AES, won picture book; “Just Say No To Shut Down” by Bryan Maynard, AMS, won real world; “Major Stephen Lee Prater” by Todd Prater, DACE, won the ‘our people’ category; “4 Wheeling” by Zachary Halbert, DACE, won the ‘our place’ category;“Hindman Settlement School” by Grace Mullins, SFES, won photo essay — past; and “Eating Out” by Alexa Morris, DACE, won photo essay — present.

Sixth Grade:

“My Puppy” by Sarah Boyd, DACE, won illustrated work; “The Closet” by Lexie Mullins, AES, won non-illustrated; “Seasons Change — Memories” by Briah Samons, DACE, won poetry/song lyrics; “Dream Big” by Slone Akers, DACE, won picture book; “Silent Deer Killer” by Adam Justice, AES, won real world; “My Grandmother’s Years” by Talan Avery Bailey, BLES, won the ‘our people’ category; “McDowell High School Home” by Carson Allen, DACE, won the ‘our place’ category; “Past Treasures of the Past — Wayland” by Sara Brown, DACE, won photo essay — past; and “The Water Crisis” by Paisley Akers, AMS, won photo essay — present.

Fifth Grade:

“A Home for Delta” by Stella Whitaker, PES, won illustrated work; “Three Heroic Champions” by Joshua Blankenship, SFES, won non-illustrated; “Sports” by Aubrey Shelton, MVES, won poetry/song lyrics; “Time Will Tell” by Tessa Spencer, DACE, won picture book; “The History of Games” by Hunter Stumbo, SFES, won real world; “My Great Grandpa” by Anthony Wallen BLES, won the ‘our people’ category; “East Kentucky” by Rylee Daniels, SFES, won the ‘our place’ category; “The Prestonsburg, KY Bus Disaster” by Lakin Spradlin, PES, won photo essay — past; and “Foster Care” by Whitley Hall, MVES, won photo essay — present.

Fourth Grade:

“A Dog Named Beaver” by Jonah Stephens, AES, won illustrated work; “Bully Basketball” by Austin Meade, MVES, won non-illustrated; “The Wind” by Tyra Tackett, JMS, won poetry/song lyrics; ““Good Sea Life” by Ashton Wallace, PES, won picture book; “Birds” by Danielle Ashia, MVES, won real world; “My Papaw David” by Jackson Hall, MVES, won the ‘our people’ category; “How the 1958 Bus Wreck Affected...” by Korbin Combs, AES, won the ‘our place’ category; “The Story of Wheelwright” by Aubrey Setser, MVES, won photo essay — past; and “

The Rise and Fall of Eric C. Conn” by Lydia Johnson, JMS, won photo essay — present.

Third Grade:

“Dream Traveler” by Brielle Bilite, MVES, won illustrated work; “Jacob’s Guitar” by Madelyn Engle, SFES, won non-illustrated; “Girl Got Game” by Mahayla Garcia, MVES, won poetry/song lyrics; “The Lost Turkey Finds A Home” by Ryan Jarrell, AES, won picture book; “The Best Trip Ever” by Greyson Akers, JMS, won real world; “What Was it Like When …?” by Lacey Little, JMS, won the ‘our people’ category; “My Mountain Heritage” by Morgan Marsillett, PES, won the ‘our place’ category; “Searching for Bus 27” by Brody Horne, MVES, won photo essay — past; and “Our Litter Problem” by Tianna Ward, MVES, won photo essay — present.

Second Grade:

“My Adventures with Daisy” by Sydney Cavins, AES, won illustrated work; “A Girls Friend with a Fairy” by Jayden Isaac, MVES, won non-illustrated; “Dirt Bike Poems” by Noah Tackett, SFES, won poetry/song lyrics; “The Lonely Dragon” by Eli Strong, JMS, won picture book; “How to Use Emojis” by Julia Johnson, JMS, won real world; “Back in Time” by Emily Hayes, MVES, won the ‘our people’ category; “Past The Battle of Middle Creek” by Austin Risner, MVES, won photo essay — past; and “The Story of the Water Problem” by Jessa Johnson, JMS, won photo essay — present.

First Grade:

“My Dog Sky” by Brayden Isaac, SFES, won illustrated work; “Avery and Poppy Down on the Farm” by Ava Johnson, SFES, won non-illustrated; “Family Dogs” by Luke Tackett, JMS, won poetry/song lyrics; “Looking Out” by Lauralee Slone, AES, won picture book; “Chocolate Covered Strawberries” by Kinley Allen, MVES, won real world; ““Lana’s Life” by Shelby Wright, SFES, won the ‘our people’ category; “Where I Come From” by Landon Farler, MVES, won the ‘our place’ category; “Roll on Highway” by Blaze Shelton, MVES, won photo essay — past; and “To Golf or Not to Golf” by Annabelle Jackson, MVES, won photo essay — present.


“Sparkle the Little Pony” by Jaycee Hagans, DACE, won illustrated work; “Learning Sign Language” by Layla Lawrence, SFES, won non-illustrated; “Adventures with my Brother” by Kylie May, AESS, won poetry/song lyrics; “Life Cycle of a Parrot” by Alirah Bailey, PES, won picture book; “Me and My Dad” by Luke Anderson, BLES, won real world; “Music Makes Life Better” by Kasyn Barnette, MVES, won the ‘our people’ category; “My Mountain Heritage Appalachia” by Lyla Helton, SFES, won the ‘our place’ category; “Past We Remember” by Zadia Hunter, SFES, won photo essay — past; and “Litter Problem” by Lindsey Johnson, SFES, won photo essay — present.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.