AES Honored

The Allen Elementary STLP Team, composed of Tanner Skeens, Bradley Jervis, Lexi Blair, Ethan McIntosh, Peyton Senters, Justin Akers, Reese Music, Keegan Farley and Timothy Mahan, took home first place at the state STLP middle school division and will travel to Pennsylvania to present their project in June.

Floyd County Schools Superintendent Danny Adkins congratulated the students who excelled in the Kentucky Student Technology Leadership Program competition, held at Rupp Arena in Lexington on April 18.

“Congratulations Allen Elementary ‘Forget Me Not’ team and Coach Mike Bell for being back-to-back state Middle School Champions,” Adkins said. “This purpose of this outstanding project, ‘Forget Me Not,’ is to remind parents that their child is still buckled in the car seat. Their goal was to save lives. The device can sound an alarm when the temperature inside a vehicle gets too hot or too cold and can notify parents on their phone if they are ten or more feet away from the car seat.” 

The Allen Elementary team, composed of Tanner Skeens, Bradley Jervis, Lexi Blair, Ethan McIntosh, Peyton Senters, Justin Akers, Reese Music, Keegan Farley and Timothy Mahan, will travel to Pennsylvania to present and in June. 

“Our Floyd County team is very proud of this team’s state champion title, but we are more proud of this group of kids wanting to save lives,” said Adkins.

He also announced that two other Allen Elementary teams were in the top 27 in the state — “AES Cares” and “Eagle Radio 92.7. Both made it to level three.

“We also want to say how proud we are of two other teams for making it to Level 3, which means these teams were in the top eighteen in the state,” said Adkins. “Congratulations Betsy Layne High School ‘3-D Hologram’ team and Coach Sandy Mims, and Floyd Central High School ‘Broaden Your Horizons’ team and Coach CaSandra Fulks. We are so excited to have three of the top 18 teams in Kentucky come from Floyd County.”

The BLHS “3-D Hologram” team, composed of  Landon Howard, Bretton Jervis, Chris Brashear and Jonah Bell,  used a television/computer monitor and computer to project a replica of an image into a container built from Plexiglas. Teachers can use 3-D hologram to projected an image to augment a lesson. According to Adkins, as an example, a teacher may project an image of a heart as the lobes of the heart are discussed.

The FCHS “Broaden Your Horizons” team,  composed of Belle Stewart, Savanna Price, Chloe Watson, Sahara Little, Reece Terry, Kelli Thomas and Alyssa Tackett, informed the community about job opportunities. The focus of the project is to help students who are entering the workforce, adults who need jobs due to the closing of the coal industry and adults moving to the community, find suitable employment. 

The “AES Cares” team, with Coresha Smith, Courtney Meadows, Ruthie Dillion and Natalie Garrett, has four components. The students gather donations to provide care cases for children in foster care, maintain a blessing box outside the gates at the school for the community members to pick up supplies and food if they are in need, “Homework Helps,” an in-school and after-school tutoring program lead by students and “Family Resource Center and Youth Services Assistants,” students helping the resource center. 

Allen Elementary’s “Eagle Radio 92.7” team, with members Shian Crum, Sidney Chaffins, Areica Salisbury and Alyson Kilburn, started an on-campus radio station that broadcasts school announcements. This year, Eagle Radio was able to construct its own server to stream on the Internet. 

Adkins also congratulated the Duff-Allen Central Elementary team, made up of Brody Buck, Grant Hall and Grant Wright with Coach Ceci Prater for winning first place in Game Design; Laci O’Quinn for first place in on-demand photo and in technical writing; Todd Prater for first place in documentary and in feature video; Alexa Morris for placing second in original photo. He also commended Madison Lawson for serving in the STLP State Blogger Corps and Hailey B. Little for serving on the Media Arts Team for Kentucky.

“We’re very proud of our students who competed at state and made Floyd County Schools a standout,” Adkins said. “We’re excited about providing opportunities like this for all students to find their passion and excel.”

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.